Trigg & Gusset – The Way In

Dutch jazz renegades Trigg & Gusset, notorious for their musical ingenuity as well as their mature production style, are now back in 2020 with their third album “The Way In”. This follow up to their internationally acclaimed “Adagio For The Blue” features eight soundly composed and tightly produced tracks.

While staying inside the domain of instrumental jazz, Trigg & Gusset manage to constantly maintain a tight embrace with the world of electronica. Gusset’s powerful woodwind performance combines magically well with the composition and production skills of the studio veteran Trigg, allowing them with each release to create an ever more a unique blend of styles that can only be said to be in a league of its own.

As well as both being excellent musicians themselves, Trigg & Gusset manage to maintain a strong network of excellent performers, as well as creatives, supporting their original compositions on all levels, from artwork to guest performances. “The Way In” can be considered Trigg & Gussets summit in this perspective as well as in the sense that it has matured their diversity; the trumpet solo of Coen Hamelink in Mirage, the flute solo by Famke van Daalen in Stardust or the bass playing by Dominique Bentvelsen and Just Lavooij enable it the sense of a solid formation, setting it apart from the current standard of electronica or next generation dark noir jazz in a big way.

“The Way In” is released in limited edition on LP and CD, 300pcs each, as well as digitally on all available mp3 outlets. If you enjoy either the old hardcore jazz releases or contemporary electonica, or any of Trigg & gussets other releases fo course, I suggest you try to get your hands on a copy as fast as you possibly can!

Composed, arranged & produced by Bart Knol

Erik van Geer – tenor saxophone & bass clarinet
Bart Knol – piano, rhodes, synths, percussion & programming
Coen Hamelink – trumpet & flugelhorn
Just Lavooy – double bass on track 2 & 6
Dominique Bentvelsen – double bass on track 3 & 8
Jurren Mekking – guitar, bass on track 5
Famke van Daalen – flute on track 5
Jort Nijhuis – drums on track 2, 4, 6, 7 & 8
Marcel van As – drums on track 3 & 5

Recorded & Mixed by Bart Knol
Drums recorded at Emiel Zwaard Studios
Mastered by Bob Macc at Subvert Mastering
Artwork by Ray Hoo
Graphic design by Coen Hamelink

Special thanks to:
Stephan, Rosalie, Arjette

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.